Rage

Eniola.O
1 min readAug 17, 2023

--

Is that what they call it? Is that what I am supposed to feel?

A flurry of emotions I’ve had for 1 year just disappears with five words you said.

Like Mal in the movie, Inception, I locked away something, very deep; in the recess of my heart.

Love…

After two situationships, I decided that I wasn’t getting myself emotionally involved with anyone. All my love would be for Jesus. And when He deemed it fit, He would give the spare key of my heart to the one whom He chose.

But how were you able to locate that vault? Like Daisy when she saw Gatsby, how did you awaken those feelings again?

I blame me. Not you. Not with the actions, gestures, the words, the stares. How could I not fall? You made it too easy. And I am sorry I grew fond of you. Would I say I was led on? Maybe, maybe not. I didn’t know your deepest intentions. And neither did you mine.

What has happened has happened? And I must face the consequences. It wasn’t in your smile, or your aura. You were genuinely interested in me, and I mistook it for love. We could never work together.

But I am happy for you and her. I am glad Jesus gave you her key instead. And while your eyes grow brighter by love, I will wait for the Lord’s own for me.

*plays Where Do Broken Hearts Go? by Whitney Houston*

--

--